Senate Forum

4th Annual Senate Forum

Pursuing Un-polarization

May 10, 2022, 4-6 pm
Convocation Hall, Peter MacKinnon Building

Recorded Video of Livestream

Forum Program

Senate Forum 2022

3rd Annual Senate Forum

Race Against COVID: Innovation the World Needs
February 11, 2021, 1-3 p.m. via Zoom

Recorded video of forum

2nd Annual Senate Forum

Climate Change: Realities


October 16, 2019, 4-6 pm

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saskatoon East – University
High Up Above Room


2018-19 Inaugural Senate Forum

Cannabis Conundrum: Insights and Perspectives

Video of forum

December 4, 4-6 pm
High Up Above Room
Holiday Inn Express East-University

Elections and Nominations


View meeting schedule, agenda and minutes.



The Senate is composed of 118 members as follows:

  • the present and former Chancellors
  • the president and vice-presidents of the university
  • the Minister of Advanced Education and the Deputy Minister
  • principals of federated and affiliated colleges, deans or acting deans of colleges, and such other deans of academic and student affairs and such directors as nominated by the president and approved by the Senate
  • 14 electoral district members
  • 14 members-at-large
  • six undergraduate students and one graduate student
  • representatives of professional societies, groups or organizations in the province which in the opinion of the Senate contribute in a significant way to the social, economic and cultural welfare of the Province and have a demonstrated interest in furthering the goals of higher education and research at the university

Senate Districts

14 senate members are elected by the Convocation to represent electoral districts established by the Senate.


The senate is the university’s window on the province and the province’s window on the university. Under The University of Saskatchewan Act, 1995, Senate is responsible for:

  • confirming admission requirements and quotas (on the approval of council);
  • recommendations regarding the establishment or disestablishment of any college, school, or department;
  • appointing examiners for and making bylaws respecting the conduct of examinations for professional societies;
  • the granting of honorary degrees; and
  • non-academic student discipline


The senate responsibilities, procedures and regulations are outlined in the Senate Bylaws.

Honorary Degrees

Nominations for honorary degree recipients are accepted year-round and will be reviewed by the Senate honorary degrees committee.


Senate Orientation normally takes place prior to the Fall Senate meeting.

The following documents are provided as part of the orientation:

A list of helpful acronyms can be found here.