The chancellor is the ceremonial head of the university. Duties of the University of Saskatchewan chancellor include:

  • Presiding over university convocation ceremonies
  • Conferring degrees
  • Chairing University Senate
  • Serving as an ex-officio member of the Board of Governors. 

Grit McCreath

In addition to her commitment to community service and the University of Saskatchewan, Chancellor Grit McCreath has been an educator - teacher, teacher-librarian, and high school administrator - for over 30 years in Saskatchewan, Alberta and Ontario. For the last decade, Chancellor McCreath has served the University of Saskatchewan as a member of the Senate and Board of Governors. In 2015, she was named the first Honourary Ambassador of the University. The chancellor has been honoured twice by the City of Calgary and received the Conference Board of Canada Royal Bank Partners in Education Award; the Excellence in Teaching Award from Alberta Education; and was named one of Calgary's Women of Distinction. In 2011 Chancellor McCreath received a spot on the College of Education Wall of Honour. 

The chancellor was honoured in 2016 with the University of Saskatchewan Alumni Achievement Award for volunteerism, philanthropy and public service. On National Philanthropy Day 2018, she and her husband Scott received the University of Saskatchewan Honoured Supporter Award from the Association of Fundraising Professionals. 

Chancellor Grit McCreath was also most recently named a recipient of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit. The chancellor currently serves on the Human Resources committee and the Land and Facilities committee of the Board.