The Board of Governors meets approximately five times a year. Meeting dates, highlights and reports are available.


The Board of Governors consists of eleven members: The Chancellor, the President of the University, five members appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council, two members elected by the Senate, one student, and one faculty member. It elects its own Chair and Vice-Chair from among its members.


  • Governance and Executive Committee
  • Audit and Finance Committee
  • Human Resources Committee
  • Land and Facilities Committee



The role of the Board is outlined in Board of Governors Bylaws.


The Board of Governors is responsible for overseeing and directing all matters respecting the management, administration and control of the university’s property, revenues and financial affairs.

This includes:

  • construction and maintenance of buildings, equipment and capital assets;
  • appointing the president and other senior officers of the university and fixing salaries;
  • compensation and terms of employment for all employees, and pension plans for retirees;
  • overseeing the university’s finances, investments and pension plans;
  • providing for the establishment and/or disestablishment of colleges, schools, departments, endowed chairs and institutes;
  • affiliation and federation with other educational institutions;
  • setting of tuition and other fees; and
  • establishment and oversight of good governance practices, including regulating the conduct of its meetings, establishing its committees and making bylaws respecting matters over which it has responsibility.

Travel Expenses

The University of Saskatchewan publishes all relevant expenses incurred by the Chair of the Board of Governors and the Chancellor for the purposes of travel. All expenses must be incurred in accordance with approved policies and procedures of the University of Saskatchewan, and all applicable laws.

Forms and Guidelines


For inquiries please contact the