Terms of Reference

The Scholarships and Awards Committee of University Council is responsible for:

  1. Recommending to Council on matters relating to the awards, scholarships and bursaries under the control of the University.
  2. Recommending to Council on the establishment of awards, scholarships and bursaries.
  3. Granting awards, scholarships, and bursaries that are open to students of more than one college or school.
  4. Recommending to Council rules and procedures to deal with appeals by students with respect to awards, scholarships and bursaries.
  5. Designating individuals to act as representatives of the Committee on any other bodies, when requested, where such representation is deemed by the Committee to be beneficial.



  • Nine members of the General Academic Assembly, at least three of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair.
  • Vice-President, Academic of the USSU
  • Vice-President, Finance of the GSA
  • An Indigenous representative from the Office of the Vice-Provost Indigenous Engagement

Ex Officio Members

  • Provost and Vice-President, Academic or designate
  • Dean of the College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies or designate
  • Vice-Provost, Students and Learning or designate
  • Vice-President, University Relations or designate (non-voting member)
  • President (non-voting member)
  • Chair of Council (non-voting member)

Resource Officers (non-voting)

  • Resource Officers are to be identified at the end of each academic cycle for the following year (May committee meetings) by the Council Committee, and in consultation with the Governance Office.

Committee Coordination

  • Office of the Registrar

Meeting Schedule

2023-2024 Meeting dates:

October 5, 2023 - 1:00-2:00
December 7, 2023 - 1:00-2:00
January 18, 2024 - 10:00-11:00
April 26, 2024 - 2:00-3:00


2024-2025 Tentative Meeting Plan:

  • meets about 4 times per year (October, December, January and April) on an ad hoc basis