Terms of Reference

The Research, Scholarly and Artistic Works Committee of  University Council is responsible for:

  1. Recommending to Council on issues and strategies to support research, scholarly, and artistic work.

  2. Recommending to Council on policies and issues related to research integrity and ethics in the conduct of research, scholarly, and artistic work.

  3. Recommending to Council and providing advice to the Vice-President, Research on community engagement and knowledge translation activities related to research, scholarly, and artistic work.

  4. Providing advice to the Vice-President ,Research and reporting to Council on issues relating to the granting agencies that provide funding to the University.

  5. Providing advice to the Vice-President, Research, the Vice-Provost, Teaching, Learning, and Student Experience, and the Dean of the College of Graduate and Post-Doctoral Studies on the contributions of undergraduate and graduate students and post-doctoral fellows to the research activity of the University.

  6. Examining proposals for the establishment of any institute or centre engaged in research, scholarly, or artistic work at the University, and providing advice to the planning and priorities committee of Council.

  7. Receiving an annual reports from the Vice-President, Research and the Dean of College of Graduate and Post-Doctoral Studies.

  8. Receiving and reporting to Council the University’s research ethics boards’ annual reports.

  9. Designating individuals to act as representatives of the committee on any other bodies, when requested, where such representation is deemed by the committee to be beneficial.

  10. Considering the priorities of the University community, such as Indigenization and internationalization, when assessing current and new research, scholarly, and artistic work activities. 


Archived Reports



Nine members of the General Academic Assembly, at least three of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair.
One of the nine members will be an assistant or associate dean with responsibility for research.
One undergraduate student appointed by the USSU
One graduate student appointed by the GSA

Ex Officio
Vice-President, Research
Dean of the College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
Dean of the University Library (or designate)
President (non-voting member)
Chair of Council (non-voting member)

Administrative Support
The Office of the University Secretary

Membership 2020-21


Marjorie Delbaere (Chair)-Exec Management and Marketing 2021
Natasha Koechl Drama 2023
Gordon Sarty Psychology 2022
Cheryl Waldner Large Animal Clinical Sciences 2021
DeDe Dawson Library 2023

General Academic Assembly Members

Jon Bath Art and Art History 2021
Sarah Buhler Law 2021
Mathew Lindsay Geology 2023
Jim Waldram Archaeology and Anthropology 2022
Lori Bradford (Vice-chair)-Exec SENS 2022

Other Members (voting)

Karen Chad Vice-President Research (ex officio)
Deborah Burshtyn Dean, College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (ex officio)
Charlene Sorensen Acting Dean, University Library (ex officio)
Kiefer Roberts USSU Designate 2021
Hadi Ramin GSA Designate 2021

Resource Members

Dion Martens Director of Research Services and Ethics Office
Laura Zink Director, Strategic Research Initiatives
Amanda Storey-Exec Academic Governance and Hearings Advisor-Committee Secretary


Meeting Schedule

2020-2021 Meeting Schedule

  • September 17, 2020
  • October 8, 2020
  • October 29, 2020
  • November 19, 2020
  • December 10, 2020
  • January 14, 2021
  • February 4, 2021
  • February 25, 2021
  • March 18, 2021
  • April 8, 2021
  • April 29, 2021
  • May 13, 2021
  • May 27, 2021