

Report of the Senate Nominations Committee

FOR DECISION

Presented by: Rhonda Gough, Chair, Nominations Committee

Date of Meeting: April 26, 2025

Subject: Nominations to Senate standing committees and appointments to

other committees

Proposed Motion: That Senate approve the appointments to Senate committees as

indicated in the attached schedule for 2025-2026, effective July 1, 2025.

Background and Summary:

Pursuant to the *Senate Bylaws*, the Nominations Committee is responsible for recommending to Senate eligible Senators to each of the following committees and entities:

- Executive Committee.
- Honorary Degrees Committee.
- Education Committee.
- Membership Committee.
- Board of Student Discipline and Appeal Board.
- University Council.
- Any other committees requiring Senate representation, which this year is the Research Junction Awards Committee.

The terms of reference for each of the above committees outlines requirements for its composition, both in the number of Senators required and often as to whether the Senators are elected to Senate, appointed to Senate by an external association, or have an ex officio membership on Senate.

To facilitate the committee's decision making, the Governance Office put out a call for interest to all Senators to ascertain which Senators were interested in serving and in what capacity. The committee used this information in its deliberations and thanks all those who put their names forward.

A few items to note for Senate:

- The term length for all standing committees of Senate is one year, except for the Board of Student Discipline and Appeal Board which is three years.
- A Senator can sit on a standing committee of Senate for at most three years in a row. This restriction does not exist for the Board of Student Discipline and Appeal Board.
- The Nominations Committee does not make recommendations regarding positions specifically allocated to student Senators. This is done by the student Senators themselves.

The recommended slate of appointments is included in the attachment and requires Senate approval.

ATTACHMENTS:

1) Nomination Slate for 2025/26

Nomination Slate for 2025/2026

2024 – 2025 Members	2025 – 2026 Members	
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE		
<u>Ex-officio</u>	<u>Ex-Officio</u>	
Brooke Milne	Brooke Milne	
Angela Jaime	Angela Jaime	
Appointed Members	Appointed Members	
Vacant	Terry Leibel	
Keshia Caplette	Keshia Caplette	
Gail May-Melin	Gail May-Melin	
Elected Members	<u>Elected Members</u>	
Barb Gustafson	Bruce Richet	
Rhonda Gough	Rhonda Gough	
Jordan Robertson	Jordan Robertson	
	GREES COMMITTEE	
Ex-officio	Ex-officio	
Cheryl Hamelin	Cheryl Hamelin	
Richard Manley-Tannis	Carl Still	
Appointed Members	Appointed Members	
Andrew Loken	Andrew Loken	
Liz Rackow	Liz Rackow	
Elected Members	Elected Members	
Tamara Buckwold	Tamara Buckwold	
Colleen Mathews	Aaron Genest	
EDUCATION COMMITTEE		
Ex-officio	Ex-officio Julia Paulson	
Russ Isinger		
Meghna Ramaswamy	Michael Bradley	
Appointed Members	Appointed Members	
Kathy Gable	Jane MacLeod	
Jane MacLeod	Bev Balaski	
Elected Members	Elected Members	
Nathalie Atanasova	Audrey Hestand	
Robert Henderson	Robert Henderson	

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE	
Elected Members	Elected Members
Tamara Buckwold	Lorne Vanin
Dion Martens	Karen Mitzel
Robert Henderson	Faith Nash (Chair)
Wade Hainstock	Jessica Luc
UNIVERSITY COUNCIL	
Zsuzsa Papp	Zsuzsa Papp
Rory Picklyk	Rory Picklyk
BOARD FOR NON-ACADEMIC STUDENT DISCIPLINE AND APPEALS (3 year terms)	
Alicia Beach	Alicia Beach
Cathy Wheaton	Kyle Drever (new appointment)
Tracy Muggli	Lorne Vanin (new appointment)
Jane MacLeod	Jane MacLeod
Jordan Robertson	Jordan Robertson
Nathalie Atanasova	Nathalie Atanasova
Walter Smith	A.J. Fox, KC (new appointment)
Vacant	Beverly Balaski (new appointment)
RESEARCH JUNCTION COMPOSITION	
Kyle Drever	Karen Mitzel