

# **Report of Nominations Committee**

## **FOR DECISION**

**PRESENTED BY:** Rhonda Gough, Chair, Nominations Committee

**DATE OF MEETING:** April 20, 2024

SUBJECT: Nominations to Standing and Special Committees

**DECISION REQUESTED:** That Senate approve the appointments to standing and special

committees as detailed in the attachment, effective July 1, 2024.

#### **BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY:**

Pursuant to the *Senate Bylaws*, the Nominations Committee is responsible for recommending to Senate eligible Senators to each of the following committees and entities:

- Executive Committee.
- Honorary Degrees Committee.
- Education Committee.
- Membership Committee.
- Board of Student Discipline and Appeal Board.
- University Council.
- Any other committees requiring Senate representation, which this year is the Research Junction Awards Committee.

The terms of reference for each of the above committees outlines requirements for its composition, both in the number of Senators required and often as to whether the Senators are elected to Senate, appointed to Senate by an external association, or have an ex officio membership on Senate.

To facilitate the committee's decision making, the Governance Office put out a call for interest to all Senators to ascertain which Senators were interested in serving and in what capacity. The committee used this information in its deliberations and thanks all those who put their names forward.

A few items to note for Senate:

- The term length for all standing committees of Senate is one year, except for the Board of Student Discipline and Appeal Board which is three years.
- A Senator can sit on a standing committee of Senate for at most three years in a row. This restriction does not exist for the Board of Student Discipline and Appeal Board.
- The Nominations Committee does not make recommendations regarding positions specifically allocated to student Senators. This is done by the student Senators themselves.

The recommended slate of appointments is included in the attachment and requires Senate approval.

### **ATTACHMENTS:**

1) Nomination Slate for 2024/25

# Nomination Slate for 2024/25

2023/24 Members	2024/25 Members
Executive Committee	
Ex Officio	Ex Officio
Jane Alcorn	Brooke Milne
Angela Jaime	Angela Jaime
Appointed	Appointed
Max Bilson	Larry Wagner
Keshia Caplette	Keshia Caplette
Brenda Mishak	Gail May-Melin
Elected	Elected
Kelley Moore	Barb Gustafson
Michelle MacDonald	Jordan Robertson
Rhonda Gough	Rhonda Gough
Honorary Degrees Committee	
Ex Officio	Ex Officio
Cheryl Hamelin	Cheryl Hamelin
Meghna Ramaswamy	Richard Manley-Tannis
Appointed	Appointed
Andrew Loken	Andrew Loken
Larry Wagner	Liz Rackow
Elected	Elected
Brooks DeCillia	Tamara Buckwold
Rob Maguire	Colleen Matthews
Education Committee	
Ex Officio	Ex Officio
Russ Isinger	Russ Isinger
Meghna Ramaswamy	Meghna Ramaswamy
Appointed	Appointed
Larry Wagner	Jane MacLeod
Kathy Gable	Kathy Gable
Elected	Elected
Robert Henderson	Robert Henderson
Nathalie Atanasova	Nathalie Atanasova
Membership Committee	
Elected	Elected
Tamara Buckwold (chair)	Tamara Buckwold (chair)
Robert Henderson	Robert Henderson
Rob Maguire	Dion Martens
Wade Hainstock	Wade Hainstock
Board for Student Discipline and Appeal Board	
Alicia Beach	Alicia Beach
Cathy Wheaton	Cathy Wheaton
Tracy Muggli	Tracy Muggli
Anne Doig (3-year term expiring)	Jane MacLeod (new appointment)
Jordan Robertson (3-year term expiring)	Jordan Robertson (re-appointment)
Larry Wagner	Larry Wagner
Walter Smith	Walter Smith
Vacancy	Nathalie Atanasova (new appointment)
University Council	
Larry Wagner	Rory Picklyk
Zsuzsa Papp	Zsuzsa Papp
Research Junction Awards Committee	
Rhonda Gough	Kyle Drever
=	