University Council Membership 2023-24

Ex Officio

Peter Stoicheff, President

Airini, Provost and Vice-President Academic

College Faculty Representatives

College Faculty Representatives		
Name	College	Term Expires
Eric Lamb	Agriculture & Bioresources	June 30, 2026
James Nolan	Agriculture & Bioresources	June 30, 2026
Maggie FitzGerald	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Ludmilla Voitkovska	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Walter Siqueira	Dentistry	June 30, 2026
Felipe Sperandio	Dentistry	June 30, 2026
Julia Paulson	Education	June 30, 2026
Egan Chernoff	Education	June 30, 2026
Scott Walsworth	Edwards School of Business	June 30, 2026
Keith Willoughby	Edwards School of Business	June 30, 2026
Reza Fotouhi	Engineering	June 30, 2026
Hui Wang	Engineering	June 30, 2024
W.J (Chris) Zhang (sabbatical July 1/23 - June 30/24)	Engineering	June 30, 2026
Christopher Dutchyn	Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies	June 30, 2026
Pierre-Francois Noppen	Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies	June 30, 2026
Joel Lanovaz	Kinesiology	June 30, 2026
Corey Tomczak	Kinesiology	June 30, 2026
Martin Phillipson	Law	June 30, 2026
Jamesy Patrick	Law	June 30, 2026
Kevin Read	University Library	June 30, 2026
Greg Wurzer	University Library	June 30, 2026
Julia Boughner	Medicine	June 30, 2026
Rachel Engler-Stringer	Medicine	June 30, 2026
Marcella Ogenchuk	Nursing	June 30, 2026
Helen Vandenberg	Nursing	June 30, 2026
Jane Alcorn	Pharmacy and Nutrition	June 30, 2026
Jason Perepelkin	Pharmacy and Nutrition	June 30, 2026
Gillian Muir	Veterinary Medicine	June 30, 2026
Susan Detmer	Veterinary Medicine	June 30, 2026
Members-at-large		
Shafig Alam	Engineering	June 30, 2025

Shafiq Alam	Engineering	June 30, 2025
Kyle Anderson	Medicine	June 30, 2026
Carolyn Augusta	Edwards School of Business	June 30, 2024
Jill Bally	Nursing	June 30, 2024
Scott Bell	Arts and Science	June 30, 2025
Catherine Boden	University Library	June 30, 2024
Lori Bradford	Engineering	June 30, 2025
Michael Bradley	Arts and Science	June 30, 2024

Members-at-large (continued)

Name	College	Term Expires
Claire Card	Veterinary Medicine	June 30, 2024
Hongming Cheng	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Keith Da Silva	Dentistry	June 30, 2026
DeDe Dawson	University Library	June 30, 2025
Marjorie Delbaere	Edwards School of Business	June 30, 2025
Ralph Deters	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Rainer Dick	Arts and Science	June 30, 2025
Roy Dobson	Pharmacy and Nutrition	June 30, 2025
Maud Ferrari	Veterinary Medicine	June 30, 2025
Andrew Freywald	Medicine	June 30, 2026
John Gjevre	Medicine	June 30, 2025
Natacha Hogan	Agriculture & Bioresources	June 30, 2024
Nadeem Jamali	Arts and Science	June 30, 2024
Paul Jones	SENS	June 30, 2026
Jay Kalra	Medicine	June 30, 2026
Don Leidl	Nursing	June 30, 2025
Angela Lieverse	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Juxin Liu	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Janet Luimes	Nursing	June 30, 2026
Veronika Makarova	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Stephanie Martin	Education	June 30, 2024
Venkatesh Meda	Engineering	June 30, 2024
Darrell Mousseau	Medicine	June 30, 2026
Shaun Murphy	Education	June 30, 2026
Janet Okoko	Education	June 30, 2025
Ella Ophir	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Shelley Peacock	Nursing	June 30, 2025
Steven Rayan	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Jaswant Singh	Veterinary Medicine	June 30, 2025
Shelley Spurr	Nursing	June 30, 2024
Vicki Squires	Education	June 30, 2024
Jacek Szmigielski	Arts and Science	June 30, 2024
Christopher Todd	Arts and Science	June 30, 2025
Stephen Urquhart	Arts and Science	June 30, 2026
Julita Vassileva	Arts and Science	June 30, 2024
Cheryl Waldner	Veterinary Medicine	June 30, 2024
Keith Walker	Education	June 30, 2026
Christian Willenborg	Agriculture & Bioresources	June 30, 2024
Phil Woods	Nursing	June 30, 2024
Terry Wotherspoon	Arts and Science	June 30, 2025
FangXiang Wu	Engineering	June 30, 2024
Jing Xiao	Education	June 30, 2024
Yansun Yao	Arts and Science	June 30, 2025
Gordon Zello	Pharmacy and Nutrition	June 30, 2025

Members-at-large (continued)

Name	College	Term Expires
David Zhang	Edwards School of Business	June 30, 2026
Lifeng Zhang	Engineering	June 30, 2024

Federated and Affilated College Representatives

rederated and Affiliated College Representatives			
Grant Poettcker	Briercrest College and Seminary	June 30, 2026	
Darren Dahl	Briercrest College and Seminary	June 30, 2026	
lain Luke	Principal Emmanuel and St. Chad	June 30, 2026	
Adam Wright	Emmanuel and St. Chad	June 30, 2026	
Sheila Pocha	Gabriel Dumont College	June 30, 2026	
Vacant	Gabriel Dumont College		
Andrew Gabriel	Horizon College & Seminary	June 30, 2026	
Vacant	Horizon College & Seminary		
William Harrison	Lutheran Theological Seminary	June 30, 2026	
Kyle Schiefelbein-Guerrero	Lutheran Theological Seminary	June 30, 2026	
Richard Manley-Tannis	St. Andrew's College	June 30, 2026	
Lynn Caldwell	St. Andrew's College	June 30, 2026	
Robert Harasymchuk	St. Peter's College	June 30, 2026	
Vacant	St. Peter's College		
Tammy Marche	St. Thomas More College	June 30, 2026	
Sarah Powrie	St. Thomas More College	June 30, 2026	

Student Members (May 1, 2023-April 30, 2024)

Molly Severtson Agriculture and Bioresources

Alexis Salsbury Arts and Science

Jane Procyshyn Law

Sristy Sumana Nath Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Kyungsoo Ryu Edwards School of Business

Vacant Engineering

Lamisha Rahman Pharmacy and Nutrition

Vacant Education

Hayley Jenkins Veterinary Medicine

Kevin LeeMedicineEileen KnoxNursingSamina ValjiDentistryShahmeer AhmedKinesiology

Student Members of Affiliated and Federated Colleges (May 1, 2023-April 30, 2024)

Vacant Horizon College and Seminary
Vacant St. Thomas More College
Vacant Gabriel Dumont College
Judy Herbert Emmanuel and St. Chad

Vacant Lutheran Theological Seminary

Vacant St. Andrews College Vacant St. Peter's College

Vacant Briercrest College and Seminary

Non-Voting Participants

The following are entitled to attend and participate in meetings but are not entitled to vote

Julian Demkiw University Secretary and Chief Governance Officer

Jacquie Thomarat Director, Governance Office

Danielle Rudulier Governance Officer
Baljit Singh Vice-President, Research

Cheryl Hamelin Vice-President, University Relations

Greg Fowler Vice-President, Administration & Chief Operating Officer
Jerome Cranston Vice-Provost, Students & Learning (starting August 1, 2023)

Angela Jaime Interim Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement

Carl Still President, St. Thomas More College

Russell Isinger

Zsuzsa Papp

Senate Representative

Larry Wagner

Ishita Mann

University Registrar

Senate Representative

President, USSU (Apr 30/24)

Elisabeth Bauman Vice-President Academic Affairs, USSU (Apr 30, 2024)

Last updated: Dec. 14, 2023