UNIVERSITY COUNCIL GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE REQUEST FOR DECISION

PRESENTED BY: Roy Dobson, Chair, Governance Committee

DATE OF MEETING: June 12, 2025

SUBJECT: Nominations of Chair of the Nominations Committee

DECISICION REQUESTED: It is recommended by Governance that Council approve Reza

Fotouhi as Chair of the Nominations Committee, effective July 1,

2025.

SUMMARY:

The Governance Committee is responsible for nominating members of Council to the Nominations Committee, including recommending the chair.

In recommending committee chairs, the Governance Committee considers experience, leadership, continuity, and commitment as key attributes of chair nominees. A call went out to all current committee members to ascertain who would be interested in serving as chair, and this information was provided to the Committee to help inform decision making.

The Governance Committee met on May 27, 2025 to vote on its recommendation highlighted in yellow below.

SUMMARY:

The Nominations Committee requires 3 members of University Council as a committee member.

The current voting members who are continuing on the committee are:

Scott Bell	University Council	Arts and Science
Marcella Ogenchuk	University Council	Nursing
DeDe Dawson	University Council	Library
Rachel Engler-Stringer	University Council	Medicine
Reza Fotouhi	University Council	Engineering
Pierre-Francois Noppen	University Council	Arts and Science
Jaswant Singh	University Council	WCVM
Keith Walker	University Council	Education
Craig Wilson	University Council	Edwards

The members requiring replacement are:

- DeDe Dawson, University Library
- Scott Bell, Arts and Science
- Jaswant Singh, WCVM

NOMINEES FOR APPROVAL:

The Governance Committee members reviewed the nominations on May 27, 2024. The following individuals have agreed to serve on the committee:

Jason Perepelkin - Pharmacy and Nutrition
Jamesy Patrick - Law
Carolyn Augusta - Edwards School of Business