UNIVERSITY COUNCIL GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE REQUEST FOR DECISION

PRESENTED BY: Roy Dobson, Chair, Governance Committee

DATE OF MEETING: June 12, 2025

SUBJECT: Nominations to the Nominations Committee

DECISICION REQUESTED: It is recommended by Governance that Council approve the slate

of nominations, effective July 1, 2025.

SUMMARY:

The Governance Committee is responsible for nominating members of Council to the Nominations Committee. The attached report for Council's consideration and approval contains this year's nominees.

The Governance Committee uses the same parameters set out by the Nominations Committee and attempts to include individuals who are broadly representative of disciplines across the university, and prioritizes equity, diversity, and inclusion in representation. This prioritization of EDI principles is in line with the terms of reference for the Nominations Committee as set out in the Council Bylaws.

ATTACHMENTS:

2025-26 List of Nominees for Approval

SUMMARY:

The Nominations Committee requires 3 members of University Council as a committee member.

The current voting members who are continuing on the committee are:

Scott Bell	University Council	Arts and Science
Marcella Ogenchuk	University Council	Nursing
DeDe Dawson	University Council	Library
Rachel Engler-Stringer	University Council	Medicine
Reza Fotouhi	University Council	Engineering Arts
Pierre-Francois Noppen	University Council	and Science
Jaswant Singh	University Council	WCVM
Keith Walker	University Council	Education
Craig Wilson	University Council	Edwards

The members requiring replacement are:

- DeDe Dawson, University Library
- Scott Bell, Arts and Science
- Jaswant Singh, WCVM

NOMINEES FOR APPROVAL:

The Governance Committee members reviewed the nominations on May 27, 2024. The following individuals have agreed to serve on the committee:

Jason Perepelkin - Pharmacy and Nutrition
Jamesy Patrick - Law
Carolyn Augusta - Edwards School of Business