AGENDA ITEM NO: 8.1

UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

REQUEST FOR DECISION

PRESENTED BY:	Scott Bell, Chair, Nominations Committee
DATE OF MEETING:	May 15, 2025
SUBJECT:	Omnibus Council Committee Nominations

SUMMARY:

Each year, the Nominations Committee reviews the membership of Council committees and submits a list of nominees to Council for approval. The attached report for Council's consideration and approval contains this year's nominees for the committees of University Council.

Through the Governance Office, the committee issued a call-for-interest to the General Academic Assembly, inviting volunteers to Council and Collective Agreement Committees. Volunteers are considered first in determining the list of nominees. The Nominations Committee attempts to include individuals who are broadly representative of disciplines across the university, and prioritizes equity, diversity, and inclusion in representation. This prioritization of EDI principles is in line with the terms of reference for the Nominations Committee as set out in the Council Bylaws.

NEXT STEPS:

Assignment of Chairs to each committee and Collective Agreement Committees nominations will come forward in the June meeting.

The Governance Committee is responsible for nominating members of the Nominations Committee.

ATTACHMENTS:

2025-26 List of Council Committees and Nominees (nominees highlighted in yellow)

2025-26 List of Council Committees and Nominees

Academic Programs Committee

Eleven members of the General Academic Assembly, at least five of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair. One sessional lecturer.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members		
Carolyn Augusta	Edwards School of Business	
<mark>Roy Dobson</mark>	Pharmacy and Nutrition	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
Helen Vandenberg	Nursing	
Janet Luimes	Nursing	
Paul Jones	SENS	

General Academic Assembly Members

<mark>Jan Gelech</mark>	Arts and Science	<mark>2025-2026</mark>
Jennifer Lang	Arts and Science	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
<mark>Yannick Tremblay</mark>	Medicine	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
Regina Taylor-Gjevre	Medicine	
Lori McKee	Education	
Valerie Caron	School of Rehabilitation	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
	<mark>Sciences</mark>	

	USSU representative
	GSA representative
TBD	Sessional Lecturer
Jerome Cranston	Vice-Provost, Students and Learning
Salome Ries	Acting Associate Vice-Provost and University
	Registrar

Governance Committee

Three elected members of Council, one of whom will be chair. Council chair, PPC chair, APC chair, President's designate.

Voting members of the committee:

<mark>Library</mark>
WCVM
SENS

<mark>2025-2028</mark>

General Academic Assembly Members None.

Vicki Squires	Chair, University Council
TBD	Chair, APC
TBD	Chair, PPC
TBD	President's designate

Planning and Priorities Committee

Eleven members of the General Academic Assembly, at least six of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair. One sessional lecturer. One dean appointed by Council.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members		
Vicki Squires	Education	
Rainer Dick	Arts and Science	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
Claire Card	WCVM	
Jay Kalra	Medicine	
Christian Willenborg	Agriculture and Bioresour	ces
Angela Lieverse	Arts and Science	
Jaswant Singh	CGPS/WCVM	
General Academic Assembly	Members	
Volker Gerdts	VIDO/WCVM	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
<mark>Stella Spriet</mark>	Arts and Science	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
Venkatesh Meda	Engineering	
Kerry Mansell		
Ex Officio and Other Member	S	
	USSU representative	
	GSA representative	
TBD	Sessional Lecturer	
Brooke Milne	Dean appointed by Counci	il
	Provost and Vice-President, Academic (or designate)	
	Vice-President, Research (or designate)
	Vice-Provost, Indigenous E	Engagement

Vice-President, Administration (or designate)

Research, Scholarly, and Artistic Work Committee

Nine members of the General Academic Assembly, at least three of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members	
Eric Lamb	Agriculture and Bioresources
James Nolan	Agriculture and Bioresources
Chris Zhang	Engineering
Gordon Sarty	Arts and Science

General Academic Assembly Members

Lingling Jin	Arts and Science	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
Lisa Birke	Arts and Science	
<mark>Dean McNeill</mark>	Arts and Science	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
<mark>Janet Okoko</mark>	Education	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
Stephan Milosavljevic	Medicine	

	USSU representative
	GSA representative
Baljit Singh	Vice-President, Research
Debby Burshtyn	Dean, College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
Charlene Sorenson	Dean, University Library (or designate)

Scholarships and Awards Committee

Nine members of the General Academic Assembly, at least three of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members	
Jason Perepelkin	Pharmacy and Nutrition
Lori Bradford	Engineering
Kyle Anderson	Medicine
Veronika Makarova	Arts and Science

General Academic Assembly Members

Juxin Liu	Arts and Science	
<mark>Carmen Gillies</mark>	Education	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
FangXiang Wu	Engineering	
Amanda Lalonde	Arts and Science	
Kerry Mansel	Pharmacy and Nutrition	

Ex Officio and Other Members

USSU representative GSA representative Representative from Indigenous student unit Provost and Vice-President Academic (or designate) Vice-Provost, Students and Learning (or designate) Dean, College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (or designate)

Teaching, Learning and Academic Resources Committee

Eleven members of the General Academic Assembly, at least five of whom will be members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair. One sessional lecturer.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members		
Ralph Deters	Arts and Science	
John Gjevre	Medicine	
<mark>Marguerite Koole</mark>	Education	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
Kate Congreves	Agriculture and Bioresources	
Natasha Hubbard Murdoch	Nursing	

General Academic Assembly Members

Greg Malin	Medicine	
<mark>Gurpreet Kaur Aulakh</mark>	WCVM	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
<mark>Melanie Hamilton</mark>	Education	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
<mark>Maha Kumaran</mark>	<mark>Library</mark>	<mark>2025-2028</mark>
Natacha Hogan	Agriculture and Bioresources	
Ken MacKenzie	Arts and Science	

	USSU representative
	GSA representative
TBD	Sessional Lecturer
Jerome Cranston	Vice-Provost, Students and Learning