UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

RESEARCH, SCHOLARLY, AND ARTISTIC WORK COMMITTEE REPORT FOR INFORMATION

PRESENTED BY:	Eric Lamb, chair, Research, Scholarly, and Artistic Work
DATE OF MEETING:	June 12, 2025
SUBJECT:	Year -end report of the Research, Scholarly and Artistic Work Committee of Council
COUNCIL ACTION:	For Information Only

SUMMARY:

The Research, Scholarly, and Artistic Work (RSAW) Committee of Council provides advice and recommendations to Council and senior leadership on all aspects of the research, scholarly, and artistic work endeavour at the University of Saskatchewan. This year we engaged in discussions on many topics that support the research, scholarly, and artistic activities at USask. Throughout the year, the committee has enjoyed a strong, symbiotic relationship with the Office of the Vice-President Research (OVPR) and other units that support these important activities.

The committee engaged in discussions on the following topics this year:

- Discussing changes to University Standards with Scott Walsworth
- Receiving annual reports from the research ethics boards and reporting to University Council
- Receiving the annual report on Breaches of the Responsible Conduct of Research Policy and reporting to University Council
- Receiving a mid-year update from the OVPR
- Discussing undergraduate research initiatives with Phani Adapa
- Discussing Domestic Graduate Recruitment with Debby Burshtyn
- Receiving an update from Nancy Turner on USask's strategy on Artificial Intelligence
- Meeting with Baljit Singh for an update on faculty complement planning
- Meeting with Andrew Denton, director of the School for the Arts to discuss Research Initiatives

- Receiving annual reporting on tri-council funding performance from institutions leads
- Receiving annual reports from OVPR and CGPS

I want to thank all committee members for their engagement in the committee's work this year and I specifically acknowledge Lingling Jin for her service as vice-chair of the RSAW Committee. Stephen Milosavljevic served as RSAW's representative on JCCP, Chris Zhang served as the representative on the CFI Advisory Committee, Lisa Birke served on the New and Distinguished Researcher Award Selection Committee and I thank them all for their service. Finally, a thank you to Amanda Storey, our committee coordinator, for her support of the committee this year.