UNIVERSITY COUNCIL NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE REQUEST FOR DECISION

PRESENTED BY: Scott Bell, Chair, Nominations Committee

DATE OF MEETING: June 12, 2025

SUBJECT: Council Committee Chairs Nominations

DECISICION REQUESTED: That Council approve the attached slate of nominations, effective

July 1, 2025.

SUMMARY:

The attached report for Council's consideration and approval contains this year's Chair nominees for the committees of University Council.

Through the Governance Office, the committee issued a call-for-interest to the members of the University Council Committees. Volunteers are considered first in determining the list of nominees. The Nominations Committee attempts to include individuals who are broadly representative of disciplines across the university, and prioritizes equity, diversity, and inclusion in representation. This prioritization of EDI principles is in line with the terms of reference for the Nominations Committee as set out in the Council Bylaws.

NEXT STEPS:

As per Part Two I. (d) of the Council Bylaws, the Chair of Council will call for any further nominations from the floor at the June 12, 2025 Council meeting. If there are none, the slate will be elected. If there are nominations from the floor there will be an election held within two weeks.

The Governance Committee is responsible for nominating the Chair of the Nominations Committee.

ATTACHMENTS:

2025-26 List of Council Committees Chairs Nominees (nominees highlighted in yellow)

2025-26 List of Council Committees Chairs Nominees

Academic Programs Committee

Eleven members of the General Academic Assembly, at least five of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair. One sessional lecturer.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members

Carolyn Augusta Edwards School of Business

Roy Dobson Pharmacy and Nutrition 2025-2028

Helen Vandenberg Nursing
Janet Luimes Nursing
Paul Jones (Chair) SENS

General Academic Assembly Members

Jan GelechArts and Science2025-2026Jennifer LangArts and Science2025-2028Yannick TremblayMedicine2025-2028

Regina Taylor-Gjevre Medicine Lori McKee Education

Valerie Caron School of Rehabilitation 2025-2028

Sciences

Ex Officio and Other Members

USSU representative

GSA representative

TBD Sessional Lecturer

Jerome Cranston Vice-Provost, Students and Learning

Salome Ries Acting Associate Vice-Provost and University

Registrar

Governance Committee

Three elected members of Council, one of whom will be chair. Council chair, PPC chair, APC chair, President's designate.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members

Rachel Sarjeant-Jenkins Library 2025-2028

Susan Detmer (Chair)WCVMPaul JonesSENS

General Academic Assembly Members

None.

Ex Officio and Other Members

Vicki Squires Chair, University Council

TBD Chair, APC TBD Chair, PPC

TBD President's designate

Planning and Priorities Committee

Eleven members of the General Academic Assembly, at least six of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair. One sessional lecturer. One dean appointed by Council.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members

Vicki Squires Education

Rainer Dick Arts and Science 2025-2028

Claire Card WCVM
Jay Kalra Medicine

Christian Willenborg (Chair) Agriculture and Bioresources

Angela Lieverse Arts and Science
Jaswant Singh CGPS/WCVM

General Academic Assembly Members

Volker GerdtsVIDO/WCVM2025-2028Stella SprietArts and Science2025-2028

Venkatesh Meda Engineering

Kerry Mansell

Ex Officio and Other Members

USSU representative

GSA representative

TBD Sessional Lecturer

Brooke Milne Dean appointed by Council

Provost and Vice-President, Academic (or designate)

Vice-President, Research (or designate) Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement

Vice-President, Administration (or designate)

Research, Scholarly, and Artistic Work Committee

Nine members of the General Academic Assembly, at least three of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members

Eric Lamb (Chair)

James Nolan

Agriculture and Bioresources

Agriculture and Bioresources

Chris Zhang Engineering
Gordon Sarty Arts and Science

General Academic Assembly Members

Lingling Jin Arts and Science 2025-2028

Lisa Birke Arts and Science

Dean McNeill Arts and Science 2025-2028
Janet Okoko Education 2025-2028

Stephan Milosavljevic Medicine

Ex Officio and Other Members

USSU representative

GSA representative

Baljit Singh Vice-President, Research

Debby Burshtyn Dean, College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Charlene Sorenson Dean, University Library (or designate)

Scholarships and Awards Committee

Nine members of the General Academic Assembly, at least three of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members

Jason Perepelkin (Chair) Pharmacy and Nutrition

Lori Bradford Engineering Kyle Anderson Medicine

Veronika Makarova Arts and Science

General Academic Assembly Members

Juxin Liu Arts and Science

Carmen Gillies Education 2025-2028

FangXiang Wu Engineering
Amanda Lalonde Arts and Science

Kerry Mansel Pharmacy and Nutrition

Ex Officio and Other Members

USSU representative GSA representative

Representative from Indigenous student unit

Provost and Vice-President Academic (or designate) Vice-Provost, Students and Learning (or designate)

Dean, College of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (or designate)

Teaching, Learning and Academic Resources Committee

Eleven members of the General Academic Assembly, at least five of whom will be members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair. One sessional lecturer.

Voting members of the committee:

Council Members

Ralph Deters (Chair)

Arts and Science

John Gjevre Medicine

Marguerite Koole Education 2025-2028

Kate Congreves Agriculture and Bioresources

Natasha Hubbard Murdoch Nursing

General Academic Assembly Members

Greg Malin Medicine

Gurpreet Kaur AulakhWCVM2025-2028Melanie HamiltonEducation2025-2028Maha KumaranLibrary2025-2028

Natacha Hogan Agriculture and Bioresources

Ken MacKenzie Arts and Science

Ex Officio and Other Members

USSU representative

GSA representative

TBD Sessional Lecturer

Jerome Cranston Vice-Provost, Students and Learning