UNIVERSITY COUNCIL NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE REQUEST FOR DECISION

PRESENTED BY: Scott Bell, Chair, Nominations Committee

DATE OF MEETING: June 12, 2025

SUBJECT: Omnibus Council Committee Nominations

DECISICION REQUESTED: That Council approve the attached slate of nominations, effective

July 1, 2025.

SUMMARY:

Each year, the Nominations Committee reviews the membership of Council committees and submits a list of nominees to Council for approval. The attached report for Council's consideration and approval contains this year's Collective Agreement Committee Nominees.

Through the Governance Office, the committee issued a call-for-interest to the General Academic Assembly, inviting volunteers to serve on committees. Volunteers are considered first in determining the list of nominees. The Nominations Committee attempts to include individuals who are broadly representative of disciplines across the university, and prioritizes equity, diversity, and inclusion in representation. This prioritization of EDI principles is in line with the terms of reference for the Nominations Committee as set out in the Council Bylaws.

NEXT STEPS:

Sessional Lecturers will be nominated to Council committees in September once the Sessional employee list is available.

ATTACHMENTS:

2025-26 List of Collective Agreement Committee Nominees (nominees highlighted in yellow)

2025-26 List of Collective Agreement Nominees

University Review Committee

As per Article 15.8.4 of the collective agreement: "The University Review Committee shall be made up of nine tenured or continuing employees plus the Vice-President Academic and Provost who shall be chair. The nine employees shall be nominated to this committee by the Nominations Committee of Council and approved by Council with the length of their term specified so as to ensure a reasonable turnover of membership. Employees shall not be nominated for membership if they have served on the University Review Committee in the previous three years or if they have agreed to serve on a College review committee in that academic year."

Appointed Members:

Bishnu Acharya Engineering

Jessica Lieffers Pharmacy and Nutrition 2025 - 2028

Maha Kumaran Library

Marla Mickleborough Arts and Science

Shelley Peacock Nursing

Jason Perepelkin Pharmacy and Nutrition

Gordon Sarty Arts and Science
Lori Bradford Engineering
Egan Chernoff Education

Ex Officio Members:

Scott Walsworth (chair) Provost and Vice-President Academic (or designate)

Appeal Panel

As per Article 16.3.5.1 of the collective agreement: "An Appeal Panel of forty-eight employees drawn from the membership of the General Academic Assembly shall be named by the Nominations Committee of Council and approved by Council, with length of term specified so as to ensure a reasonable turnover of membership.... Membership shall be restricted to tenured faculty who are not members of the University Review Committee and who have not served on the University Review Committee in the previous three years."

The following people to be added to the Appeal Panel, with term lengths of three years:

- Jason Bennett
- 2. Andrejs Kulnieks
- Candice Dahl
- 4. Carol Ann Bullin
- Chris Phenix
- 6. Dinesh Dadarwal
- Eric Price
- 8. Gordon Zello
- 9. Janet Okoko
- 10. Jim Fang
- 11. Jonathan Farthing
- 12. Min Maung
- 13. Richard Evitts
- 14. Roy Dobson
- 15. Stella Spriet

Renewals and Tenure Appeal Committee

As per Article 15.8.5.2 of the collective agreement: "The committee shall consist of twelve tenured or continuing status faculty members: nine employees and three senior administrators, selected from amongst Associate Deans, Vice-Deans, Deans, Executive Directors, and/or vice-Provosts. Members will be selected by the Nominations Committee of Council and will serve a three year term. The Nominations Committee of Council shall strive to achieve representation from a wide range of disciplinary areas while also respecting the commitment to diversity (Article 7). Each year three new employees and one new senior administrator will be appointed to serve on the committee. Each year the chair of the committee shall be selected by mutual agreement between the Association and the Employer from amongst the committee members. Members may not serve as members of the University Review Committee during their term. A vacancy created by the resignation of a member will be filled by the Nominations Committee of Council for the remaining period of the term of that member."

The following people to be added to the Renewals and Tenure Appeal Committee, with term lengths of three years:

Jaswant Singh College of Graduate and Postdoctoral

Studies

Ralph Deters

Veronika Makarova
Gordon Zello

College of Arts and Science
College of Arts and Science
Pharmacy and Nutrition

Senior Administrator