UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

REQUEST FOR DECISION

PRESENTED BY:	Paul Jones, Chair, Nominations Committee of Council
DATE OF MEETING:	October 21, 2021
SUBJECT:	Council and USFA Collective Agreement Committee Nominations 2021/22
DECISION REQUESTED:	It is recommended that Council approve the nominations below (and attached and highlighted) for Council committees and chairs, effective immediately.

DISCUSSION SUMMARY:

Each year, the Nominations Committee reviews the membership of Council committees and other university-level committees and submits a list of nominees to Council for approval in May. Not all the vacancies were filled at the May 2021 Council meeting, and additional resignations were received. A second call for volunteers was made over the summer, and 25 volunteers came forward. The committee met on September 2, 2021, to consider the outstanding vacancies. Nominations were approved at the September 16, 2021, meeting of Council. Further vacancies needed to be filled, so the committee met again on October 15, 2021, and now present further nominations to Council for consideration.

The recommended individuals for additional vacancies are:

- Teaching, Learning and Academic Resource Committee (TLARC) 3-year GAA member vacancy Mary Ellen Labrecque, College of Nursing is nominated
- Chair of the Scholarships & Awards Committee 1 year vacancy Susan Shantz, Department of Art & Art History, is nominated

ATTACHED:

2021/22 Committee membership lists and Nominees (nominees highlighted in yellow)

SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS COMMITTEE

- Grants awards, scholarships and bursaries which are open to students of more than one college or school, advises Council on scholarship and awards policies and issues.
- Membership comprises 9 members of the GAA, at least 3 of whom are elected members of Council

Council Members		
Abdullah Mamun Fi	nance & Management Science	2024
Catherine Boden Lil	orary	2024
Hyunjung Shin Cu	ırriculum Studies	2022
	_	
General Academic Assembly Me	mbers	
<mark>Susan Shantz (chair) - exec</mark>	Art & Art History	2023
Som Niyogi	Biology	2022
Saman Razavi	SENS	2024
Repata Grazziontin (1yoar cabbati	c Educational Administration	2022

Renata Grazziontin (1year sabbatic	Educational Administration	2022
leave replacement for Janet Okoko)		
Jason Perepelkin	Pharmacy	2024
Fan Yang	Finance & Mangement Science	2024

Other Members

Deborah Burshtyn	Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (ex officio)		
Candace Pete-Cardoso	Director, Office of the Vice-Provost Indigenous Engagement		
Alison Pickrell	Assistant Vice-provost, Strategic Enrolment Management (ex officio)		
Debra Pozega Osburn	Vice-President University Relations (<i>ex officio</i> , non-voting)		
Tauqueer Iftikhar	USSU designate (VP Academic Affairs)	2022	
Ehsan Moradi	GSA designate	2022	

Resource Members (non-voting)

Shandi Boser	Manager, Donation and Trusts Services
Russell Isinger	Registrar
Heather Lukey	Director, Graduate Awards and Scholarships
Alex Beldan-exec	Student Finance and Awards (Committee Coordinator)

TEACHING, LEARNING AND ACADEMIC RESOURCES COMMITTEE

- Reviews and advises on pedagogical issues, support services for teaching and learning, Indigenous teaching and learning, and policy issues on teaching, learning and academic resources.
- Membership comprises 11 members of the GAA, at least 5 of whom will be members of Council; includes 1 sessional lecturer.

Council Members

Kate Langrell

Kathleen James-Cavan (Chair)-Exe	-	2022		
John Gjevre	Medicine	2023		
Natacha Hogan	Animal and Poultry Science	2023		
Paul Jones	Toxicology	2022		
JoAnn Murphy	Library	2023		
General Academic Assembly Me	mbers			
Loleen Berdahl (Vice-chair)-Exec		2022		
Manar Angrini	Biology	2022		
Diego Ardenghi	Dentistry	2024		
Mary Ellen Labrecque	Nursing	<mark>2024</mark>		
Kelly Foley	Economics	2024		
Ann Martin	English	2023		
Student Members				
Tauqueer Iftikhar	USSU Designate (VP Academic Affairs)	2022		
Olusola Akintola	GSA Designate (VP Academic)	2022		
Ex-officio (voting)				
Patti McDougall-Exec	Vice-Provost, Teaching, Learning and Stud	dent Experience		
Sessional Lecturer				
Jordan Raymond	Educational Foundations	2022		
Resource Members (non-voting)				
Shari Baraniuk	CIO, Information and Communications Te	chnologies		
Rachel Sarjeant-Jenkins	(designate for) Dean, University Library			
Cheri Spooner	Director, Distance Education Unit			
Nancy Turner-Exec	Director, Teaching and Learning Enhancement			
Candace Wasacase-Lafferty	Director, Indigenous Initiatives			
Candice Weingartner	Director, ICT Academic and Research Technologies			
Erin Holcomb-Exec	Teaching and Learning (Committee Coord	linator)		
Associate Members (non-voting)				

Copyright Coordinator