UNIVERSITY COUNCIL

JOINT COMMITTEE ON CHAIRS AND PROFESSORSHIPS FOR INFORMATION ONLY

PRESENTED BY: Airini, Provost and Vice President Academic

Chair, JCCP

DATE OF MEETING: June 16, 2022

SUBJECT: JCCP 2021-2022 Annual Report

COUNCIL ACTION: For information only

CONTEXT AND BACKGROUND:

The Joint Board/Council Committee on Chairs and Professorships (JCCP) is chaired by the Provost and Vice-President Academic or designate with representation from: University Council; the Board of Governors; the Research, Scholarly and Artistic Work Committee of Council; the Vice-President Research or designate; the Vice-President University Relations or designate; the Controller, Financial Services or designate; and the Secretary to the Board of Governors and Council or designate.

The committee is responsible for reviewing proposals for the establishments of chairs and professorships, receiving annual reports of chairs, and developing and reviewing procedures and guidelines related to the funding and on-going administration of chairs. The committee makes recommendations to University Council and the Board of Governors for the establishment of chairs and professorships that fall within its jurisdiction.

DISCUSSION SUMMARY:

Over the course of 2021/2022 JCCP reviewed and recommended establishment of the WCVM Research Chair in Pollinator Health, The Knight Family Enhancement Chair in Neurological Surgery, The E.D. Tymchatyn Chair in Topology, and the JSGS Research Chair in Métis Governance and Policy. University Council subsequently approved each of these Chairs. The Board of Governors' decision on the JSGS Research Chair in Métis Governance and Policy is pending their June meeting, but they have accepted each of the other recommendations.

The JCCP committee also reviewed terms of reference for the Beef Industry Integrated Forage Management and Utilization Chair, and the Cameco Chair in Indigenous Health and Wellness.

Other activity of the committee included, addressing concerns raised during an internal audit of the Chairs Program, and formalizing a framework for accepting donations intended to support chairs at the UofS.

Committee Membership:

Provost and Vice President Academic (Chair)
Board of Governors Representative
Vice-President Research Designate
Research, Scholarly and Artistic Work
Member of Council Representative
University Secretary's Office
Controller, Financial Services
University Relations Designate

Kenneth Wilson (designate)
Grant Devine
Dawn Wallin
Steve Milosavljevic
John Gjevre
Jacquie Thomarat
Terry Summers/Trevor Batters
Shandi Boser

Committee Support:

Research Services Resource Person Secretary Laura Zink Anna Okapiec (up to April) /Meghan McLaughlin (May onward)

ATTACHMENTS:

None